10 Popular Cybersecurity Certifications [2023 Updated]

Cybersecurity is defending computers, networks, and data against theft, loss, damage, and unwanted access. It is sometimes referred to as computer security or information security.

Our interconnectedness increases the potential for theft, harm, and disruption by unscrupulous actors. The need for cybersecurity experts has increased due to an increase in cybercrime. The job market is anticipated to expand by 35% between 2021 and 2031.

Even though most cybersecurity specialists hold at least a bachelor's degree in computer science, many employers choose applicants who additionally have a certification that attests to their familiarity with industry best practices. Hundreds of certificates are available, ranging from basic to sophisticated and vendor-specific.

Find a certification that will give you a competitive edge in your career before investing your time and money. Here is a list of ten Popular Cybersecurity Certifications.

Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP)

The cybersecurity professional organization (ISC)2's CISSP certification is one of the most sought-after qualifications in the field. Obtaining a CISSP certifies your IT security expertise and ability to plan, carry out, and monitor a cybersecurity program.

You must have five or more years of total work experience in at least two of the eight cybersecurity domains to be eligible to sit for the CISSP exam. 

These cover security and risk management, asset security, security architecture and engineering, security of communication and networks, security of identity and access, security assessment and testing, security operations, and security of software development.

A four-year computer science degree satisfies one year of the required work. Paid internships and part-time employment both count.

Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA)

This certification from the organization for IT professionals ISACA shows your proficiency in identifying security flaws, developing and putting controls, and tracking compliance. For professions in cybersecurity auditing, it's one of the most well-known certificates.

Five years of experience in IT or IS audit, control, security, or assurance is required. Accordingly, one or two years of experience can be replaced with a two- or four-year degree.

Certified Information Security Manager (CISM)

You may demonstrate your proficiency in the management side of information security, including areas like governance, program creation, and program, incident, and risk management, with the CISM certification, also offered by ISACA.

Getting your CISM might be an excellent idea if you want to switch from the technical to the administrative side of cybersecurity.

You must have at least five years of experience in information security management to sit for the CISM exam. Obtain up to two years of general information security experience to satisfy this prerequisite. You can also waive one or two years with another certification in good standing or a graduate degree in a discipline linked to information security.

CompTIA Security+

The entry-level security certification CompTIA Security+ verifies the fundamental competencies required for any cybersecurity position. 

With this certification, you can show that you can evaluate an organization's security, keep an eye on cloud, mobile, and internet of things (IoT) environments, secure them, comprehend risk and compliance rules and regulations, and recognize and handle security incidents.

Although there are no specific criteria, you are advised to obtain your Network+ certification first and accumulate at least two years of IT experience with a security focus before attempting the Security+ test.

CompTIA advises initially acquiring your Google IT Support Professional Certificate if you're starting in information technology (IT). While getting ready to pass the CompTIA A+ exams—the first stage in the CompTIA certification path—you'll develop the fundamental IT skills needed to succeed.

Professional Ethical Hacker (CEH)

To find weaknesses before hostile players do, ethical hacking, also known as white hat hacking, penetration testing, or red team, entails legally breaking into enterprises. The EC-Council provides the CEH Certified Ethical Hacker certification. Earn it to show off your expertise in attack detection, prevention, and vector analysis.

The CEH certification teaches you to approach cybersecurity and think like a hacker proactively.

If you have two years of information security-related job experience or have completed official EC-Council training, you can sit for the CEH test.

GIAC Security Essentials Certification (GSEC)

This certification from the Global Information Assurance Certification (GIAC) provides an entry-level security accreditation for those with some expertise in information systems and networking. Your proficiency in security-related duties like active defence, network security, cryptography, incident response, and cloud security is validated by obtaining this credential.

If you have some experience in IT and want to go into cybersecurity, you might choose to take

The GSEC exam is open to everyone. There are no prerequisites. Get some experience in computer networking or information systems to set yourself up for success.

Systems Security Certified Practitioner (SSCP)

You may demonstrate to potential employers that you can plan, deploy, and keep an eye on a secure IT infrastructure by earning this intermediate security certificate from (ISC)2. 

The exam measures knowledge in the network, communications, systems, and application security, access controls, risk identification and analysis, security administration, incident response, and cryptography.

The SSCP is created for IT specialists interacting directly with a company's security assets or systems.

A minimum of one year of paid work experience in one or more testing areas is required of applicants for the SSCP. A bachelor's or master's degree in a cybersecurity-related program can also satisfy this requirement.

CompTIA Advanced Security Practitioner (CASP+)

The CASP+ is intended for cybersecurity experts who exhibit advanced skills but want to stay in the technology industry (as opposed to management). Advanced subjects such as enterprise security domain, risk analysis, software vulnerability, safeguarding cloud and virtualization technologies, and cryptography approaches are covered in the test.

Advanced positions in architecture, risk management, and corporate security integration may become available due to the CASP+.

There isn't a set requirement to take the CASP+ test. It is only advised for cybersecurity experts with at least ten years of IT administration expertise, according to CompTIA (including five years of broad hands-on experience with security).

GIAC Certified Incident Handler (GCIH)

The GCIH certifies your knowledge of offensive operations, covering typical attack methods and vectors, and your capacity to recognize, stop, and defend against attacks. Incident management, computer crime investigation, hacker exploits, and hacker tools are all included in the certification exam.

This qualification is intended for all incident response professionals.

The GCIH exam has no prerequisites, although it's good to be familiar with security concepts, networking protocols, and the Windows Command Line.

Offensive Security Certified Professional (OSCP)

One of the most sought-after credentials for penetration testers is the OSCP from Offensive Security. The exam measures your capacity to exploit a variety of target computers and provides thorough penetration test reports for each attack.

The exam can be taken without any formal prerequisites. Offensive Security advises completing the Penetration Testing with Kali course and experience with networking, Linux, Bash scripting, Perl, or Python.

Share On